Illinois Concealed Course Description:
This 16 hour course is broken into 4 hour blocks taught on weeknights. Pay close attention to the course dates before signing up, they may not be consecutive! If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the instructor.
The State of Illinois requires all Concealed Carry License (CCL) applicants to complete 16-hours of training prior to applying for a CCL.
Already have a CCL and need to renew? Check out our 3 Hour IL CCL Renewal Course.
This is a two day course, which will meets and exceeds all State of Illinois requirements.
You will need a safe, serviceable handgun to complete this course. Davenport Guns offers firearms for sale or for rent.
Ammunition, ear protection, eye protection and range gear are also available in the store.
Students receive a free copy of Concealed Carry and Home Defense Fundamentals by Michael Martin($30 value.)
Day 1 and 2: Concealed Carry and Home Defense Fundamentals
Topics covered include:
- Self-defense firearm basics
- Shooting fundamentals
- Developing a personal & home protection plan
- Violent encounters and their aftermath
- Gear and Gadgets
- Basic Skills
Day 3 and 4: Illinois Concealed Carry Course
Topics covered include:
- Legal, Moral & Ethical Use of Force in the context of Illinois law
- Prohibited Areas
- Ownership, transportation, transfer, and unlawful use of weapons in the state of Illinois
- Continued Learning and Legal Protection
What to bring:
A safe, serviceable handgun
100 rounds of ammunition ( Do not bring a loaded weapon.)
Range-appropriate clothing (closed-toed shoes, crew neck shirt, ball cap or visor to deflect brass)
Pen and Paper for notes during classroom work.
To teach the basic knowledge, skills and attitude necessary for owning, using and carrying a concealed handgun safely and ethically in the State of Illinois.
Topics of focus include intensive lessons on the legal requirements and restrictions associated with carrying a concealed firearm in the State of Illinois and a demonstration of applicant’s handgun shooting proficiency.
This course consists of four blocks of instruction that are no less than 4 hours in length, taught over 4 separate evenings. In-person training time is no less than 16 hours.
All students must have a valid government-issued photo identification card for proof of residency in the state of Illinois, be 21 or older, and must have a valid FOID card, or pending FOID card renewal.
Private class can be arranged for groups of 5 or more.